Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-27 - 11:36 a.m.

Getting ready

Five days off! Actually not five working days, but since my schedule is so incomprehensible to me, I just count various parts of days as days I don't work. It was my last night of restricted work but I worked as hard as if I were not restricted. In fact, all week, I worked that way. Doing alot of the data entry for the techs, lots of the paper work, most of the keeping track of odds and ends, everything but the actual responsibility of runnning a line all night. My knee is still much improved, whether because of the cortisone shot or the Vioxx, I don't know. For the next 10 days, I can't do stairs according to the doctor and then I should be OK. Sure hope so.

E is watching Indian in the Cupboard which is her latest fancy. I would like to take a nap, but that doesn't seem in the immediate future. 2d needs to get a black dress for orchestra performances and general needs and wants me to go with her later this afternoon, and we may go to church tonite, the first service in the new building. I finally saw it the other day. The three big plants in the other building needed adopting so I went in to get them, an asparagus fern, a philodendron, and an angel wing something. They are in pretty sad shape, needing trimming and general petting. I have 2 black thumbs usually but benign neglect on a consistent basis usually is the answer for the problem these guys have. If they perk up, I will try to give them to 3s and 1d. Everyone needs green living things around. I had 46 one year upstairs. It looked like a jungle.

The old palomino next door died yesterday. When I came home, he was lying outside the gate covered with a tarp waiting for the truck to haul him off. He had been looking very tired this fall, but the kids had ridden him just this weekend. He was 28. Somewhere in the course of events, 800 had exchanged pleasantries with his owner and also the neighbor to the south. Perhaps hostilities will die down now. 2d thinks the wild rabbit is failing and may be getting blind or hard of hearing. I don't know the life expectancy of rabbits, but this one has had a long happy life. She still runs to greet 2d in the morning at feeding time. She can get her own food, but loves the attention.

Everyone in the immediate family will be here tomorrow. I wish we could get a picture of everyone, but I know better to ask or expect it. The turkey is sitting on the counter right now thawing. I hear that is not the best way to do things, but I have done that 2 times a year for over 20 years. Some years I have even put it in the sink still in the wrap and let it sit in cold water as it thawed. Then I put it in the large electric roaster holiday morning and cook it. It is a wonder we haven't all died if that were so dangerous. I have mashed squash or pumpkin in the freezer and ready made pie crusts. Rolls are the only question still to be settled. I could make some in the bread maker, or buy them from the bakery as usual. Sure wish 1d would make them but she is working til afternoon.

I really do not need a special day to thank You for all your goodness to me, but it is a nice day.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!