Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-29 - 9:58 a.m.

Second entry for the day

Spontaneity is not a word one can spell spontaneously. I found that out this morning while 2d was fixing her hair. Now if it had been me fixing my hair, we would have had to talk about 'quickly' since that is all the time that would have been spent fixing, but since 2d is a bit more un spontaneous than I, she asked me how to spell spontaneity. I was sure there was another 'a' in there between the e and the i but not so. I am not totally willing to give up that position, maybe the English form...... Don't know if I ever tried to spell that word before.

2d had used the word to a piano student as she encouraged the girl to let go and let it loose. Then she had the sheer courage to write the word in the lesson instructions! I think spontaneity is the word that would have best described what I was trying to say yesterday.

I had a wonderful find at Google this morning. Something Corridors said brought the old song The Martins and the Coys to my mind. I was just going to write down the words that have remained with me for the last 45 years, but instead decided to look them up at Google. Wow, not only did I find several places with complete copies of the words, but also places with list after list of old country songs.

The tunes stay with me lots longer than the words. 800 has been having fun with the comic strip Pickles lately as the old lady breaks out in song often. That is the way it is here. If someone says a line from on old song, I can usually just sing the whole thing. Did that the other day with The Great Pretender and Thunder Road much to the surprise of everyone, myself included.

When I married, I had sheets of songs I had copied that I had learned on the guitar, many were taught me by the one who taught me chords. Those sheets were lost many years ago, accidentally or deliberately. I didn't touch the guitar for years after I was married until I was saved and even then not for a while. So much of the music would have only served to draw me back to 'Egypt'. I needed new songs planted deeply in my soul. But many of the old sones were not bad, only the memories surrounding them. The memories are faded almost completely away and all that remains of that time are some old songs.

There is no desire in me to return to that time, but You give me back the melodies. They are not precious, only an anachronism in my book of days.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!