Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-15 - 11:08 a.m.

Oh my!!

Lentils and onions and sausage, oh my! Lentils and onions and sausage, oh my!!! LENTILS AND ONIONS AND SAUSAGE, OH MY!!!!!!!!!

The fragrance drifts down the stairs. Lunch is definitely prepared. I think I will mix up a package of cornbread, put the leftover corn and blackbeans in the batter and cooking will be done for the day. It is my Monday tonite and I always seem to give out around 3 and hit the sack. It couldn't possibly be because I wake at 2 or 3 in the morning and read or watch videos the rest of the night, could it?

Last night, I started watching the tapes I made on 9-ll. I had already watched the interview by Scott Pelley with Bush, the special about the 2 French photographers, and Canadians. The tapes I have left are the all day programming that I thought I would skim through and tape over. Wrong. There are some things I want to save.

I was especially moved to watch George and Laura at the Pennsylvania crash site and at Ground Zero. Whatever his failings or weaknesses, he is truly an empathetic man. I think much of the criticism of him is because of his special kind of innocence. Yes, I know this is a politician with all the political tricks they all have, but this is also a President with feeling, adaptability, and the presence of greatness about him. My respect of him grows and grows, even if he may not have been my ideal candidate. Actually no one was that November. The choices seemed to be between a rock and a hard place, but once again, You gave us the man we needed, for our good or our bad.

This has been a weekend of reflection for me. The message Sunday about the Pharisee and the publican was intriguing and thought-provoking. All of us in our Biblical correctness can sin in self-righteousness, even while thinking we are doing everything right. Stand me up beside the most carnal Christian at the foot of the Cross and neither one of us is very tall before a holy God. Being more spiritual or more mature is not very noticeable when the difference is only millimeters!

Another brain-scratcher was the first Iron Age program I taped from PBS. Seventeen Brits go to the site of a 2500 BC village to live authentically for 11 weeks. Some are not even making it 5 days! One was a Druid and held a ceremony at the beginning campfire. A couple claimed they were Christians and wouldn't participate, which I had no problem with, but it made me think about what one could have authentically shared of Your plan. I racked my brain thinking of Old Testament passages that I could have used to show those in that time period the Saviour. It would have been much the same as showing a Jew about the Messiah. There is a wealth of information beginning with Genesis 3, but often we get so absorbed in the Roman Road, 4 Things God Wants You to Know, and the Wordless Book that we forget Your plan is from eternity past.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!