Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-17 - 12:43 p.m.

Agape love

Elisabeth Elliot, one of the few Christian writers that I read, had these thoughts on agape love in her book Passion and Purity. She defined agape love as 'choosing to love, regardless of the loved one's response' and likened it to the Coast Guard's motto "You have to go out, you don't have to come back."

I do not have much agape love for others but what I have had is richly satisfying. I wish I had more. Choices in hard matters make the matters bearable. When I can say,'I choose this freely' it makes all the difference. What is even more amazing is a relationship with You,my Father, that gives me the privilege of accepting or choosing anything from Your Hand. I have chosen some hard things from Your outstretched hand and only from Your hand would I be able to choose those things without being destroyed. It is not in me to wisely choose my own way.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!