Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-12 - 11:08 a.m.

No grandchildren

You have no grandchildren. That is one more proof to me of Your existence and wisdom. Grandchildren are wonderful and I treasure each one of mine. I wouldn't trade them for the world, but I do not want any more. It is too scary. Scarier even than having children.

As I observe Christian families and ponder on those I have known, I realize with sorrow that we are all just one generation away from Hell. Even the most dedicated Christian parent who has followed Your precepts and commands closely cannot overcome the free will of a child. You Who can do the impossible can't(or won't) either. You also know the heartbreak of seeing Your children walk away from You, or worse yet refuse to be born.

The most assiduous attention to detail in every area cannot guarantee a child who will continue those details in their own life to the culmination of replicating themselves again with grandchildren who love You. I believe with all my heart that if one 'trains up a child in the way he should go, when he is old he will not depart from it' but o the destroyed years in between.

And even worse is the destruction of the next generation who never even had a fighting chance. Aside from a few scattered opportunities, most grandparents don't have much of a chance to plant those principles and truths that will save a soul. Our cries to You are the only tools in the box.

Father,I cry out to You for myself and all the other grandparents who love You. Help us to make the most of every opportunity with our grandchildren. Give us the words and actions that will give guidance to our grandchildren. Send Your Spirit to speak to their hearts. The promises in Your Word show me anew that your burden for them is far greater than ours could ever be. You have already given what mattered most to You when You gave Jesus.

Please bring Betty's grandson to Your kingdom.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!