Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-03-18 - 6:59 p.m.

Worth waiting for

Wow!! It snowed about 5 or 6 inches in just a few hours Saturday afternoon and evening. When I went out at 11 to go to work, the car had a huge puffy marshmallow covering. As I started down the road, I could hardly see the light from my headlights, so I had to get out and brush the puffy covering off them.

The next morning as I walked out to the car, the sky was a brilliant blue and the snow a blinding white. Each branch along the river had the same puffy covering my car had. A snow worth waiting for-----. I envisioned making some snow icecream but by the time we got home from church, the sun had melted it down enough to stop that idea.

I haven't made snow icecream for several years. It must be fluffy and cold and deep enough to scoop up a bowl full. We used to just add milk, sugar and vanilla and hurry to eat it before it melted, but somewhere along the years, I learned to first add canned milk, sugar, vanilla, and even food coloring all a bit stronger than I wanted, and then add another equal amount of snow. This thickened up the mixture to make a firm bowlful instead of a watery one.

Cabbage last week was 25cents a pound so I bought 2 heads and then 800 bought 2 more. 1d told me a better way to cook the corned beef instead of boiling it and adding cabbage. Her way was so much better, I don't think I will ever go back to boiling. I baked 2 packages with added water, and then poured the juices with added water into a pot and cooked the cabbage. Buttery mashed potatoes and hot biscuits with honey and berry jam made a great Irish dinner.

Even the grandgirls liked the meal altho the cabbage was not to their taste. I didn't like cabbage at that age either. The meat was drier than the usual way and saltier. Parts had a crisp covering and that was good, too. All in all, a nice day and a nice dinner.

Had to buy a new vacuum today as the Dirt Devil bit the dust. I think it was about 8 years old and cost about $80, and the new one cost the same. Not red anymore, but beige, but still lightweight. I saw one I would have liked better, but it was heavier and I did not look forward to lugging it up and down the stairs all the time.

d is going to Student Convention early in the morning until Saturday morning. This is his first year. He is playing a song on piano, preaching, and playing chess. He practiced his sermon on us Wednesday night. He chose Psalm 1, and wasn't nervous at all. He likes 'performing' and likes to talk about the Bible. Perhaps he has a call on his life to give out Your Word. He has gone around his neighborhood passing out tracts or inviting folks to church. He told me that he thought he'd better go with someone who knew more about the Bible, as he'd run into questions he couldn't answer.

I'm glad he has the self-confidence that he has. There are so many bare spots in his life that if he was of a different temper, he could live a life of depression and defeat. I don't know if it is true self-confidence or just a sure knowledge that if this is the right thing to do, then do it. That is a valuable secret to find out this early in life.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!