Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-02-20 - 10:41 a.m.

The cheapskate

The cheapskate------------

-

O the wonders of the computer age. How the library computer did it, I do not know, but I only paid an eighty cent fine. Of course, my books were due last Friday, and then came the weekend and then the Monday holiday, so perhaps that is the reason. In any case, I was very pleased.

Had a very interesting interchange with the phone company yesterday. They called awhile back offering me a 'wonderful bargain'. All of the custom choices available for only $32 and such a big bargain because I 'am paying $28 now' I told them to send me the information so I could check it out and yesterday the info came in the mail. I checked out all the choices. There were several we could use, 'unavailable' block, longdistance special ring, speed dialing of favorites, special rings for other favorites, and several others. I had a few questions, however, and called the toll-free number.

To my surprise, I found we were already signed up for the 'bargain' and it would start the 21st. I had specifically told the solicitor I wanted to see the info first and make a decision later, but she had signed us up anyway! As I asked my questions, I found out some more interesting info that had not been mentioned. The call forwarding I would receive was not the same call forwarding I already have for the CallWave program I use on the computer so I would still have to payfor that. The new 'bargain' also did not include all the access charges and taxes on my bill. Only the charge for the caller ID feature would be included in this new 'bargain' price of $32. So my old $28 bill would now be a $38 bill. Thanks, but no thanks.

Honesty in advertising is not of much importance anymore. 'Don't ask, don't tell' seems to be the order of the day in many areas.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!