Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-02-12 - 3:00 p.m.

Depravity

Depravity------------

-

Deprave-to make morally bad or evil. Roots meaning pervert, corrupt, crooked.

You say it better. 'The heart is deceitful above all things and desperately wicked. Who can know it?' and 'The wicked are like the restless sea whose waters cast up mire and dirt. There is no peace, saith my God, for the wicked.' or 'Men love darkness rather than light because their deeds are evil. Neither cometh to the light lest their deeds should be reproved.'

I have been there. I reveled in my depravity. Foul words fell or were thrown from my mouth in a spirit of wicked amusement. I was a teen but I knew what I was doing. I had had times of yearning after God, and a desire to please You. Was I angry at the circumstances of my life? Perhaps, but others in better circumstances were right there with me. So anger is not the reason.

I am so grateful to You that I didn't have to stay there the rest of my life here on earth and forever in eternity. Thank You for drawing me to yourself through Your Spirit. Thank You for sending Your Son to pay the ransom for my sin and my sins. Only one who did not deserve death could pay for me by dying in my place. That is hard to comprehend.

Back to my thoughts on depravity. Your enemy is not a creator like You are. He is a destroyer and his tool is copying with a twist-depravity, crooked, perverse. As I examine the nature of depravity closer, I see example after example of that twisted tool. Even here in cyberspace, the wonderful reference library system, communication device, and all the other conveniences it offers, Your enemy has used it for great and terrible soul-destroying perversion.

Why should that come as a surprise to anyone? Every good and perfect gift comes down from you. Food to sustain us and gratify us can be used to destroy our body, used amiss. Medicine, given through brilliant thinkers and experimenters has, in our lifetime, killed millions of innocents. The printing press used to bring Your words to the common folk, also used to spread philosophies of destruction. Love, the perfect representation of all You are, is perverted as to be unrecognizeable.

I can think of example after example after example. Depravity--nothing new and not far away from any of us when we take our eyes off the Living God and walk away from the plumbline of your Word.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!