Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Oct. 07, 2010 - 11:42 a.m.

Gloom Despair and Agony on me

1 down, 2 to go---storytime that is. I very reluctantly volunteered to do library storytime this week. Volunteered because I am the most qualified librarian here since I did it in the school and church sector for 40+ years. Reluctantly because it is my least favorite age to tell stories and sing to---under 5.

I dont even do it at church anymore because of the awkwardness of old age with story materials and the stairs to the basement at church. Havent even been downstairs since I gave over Sunday School to 2d 2 or 3 yrs ago.

Speaking of church, our little one is in trouble(?) again. The last remaining starters (3 related families)except for us, left, I think. Reasons given ranged from 'left out of the planning' to 'not getting fed by doctrine sermons'. Gag me with a fish, or whatever the old saying was. Some of the leaving is good, young novices who were looking over the worldly entertainment fence, and attitudes that were pretty smelly among the old ones. Most of this was just the enemy's continued work, but You have a purpose in this also and sometimes the stumps have to be removed before the field can grow a good crop.

Help us not to be stumps, Lord.

In any case, our pastor is feeling pretty low and failure-ish, some of which is probably on the job training.

Ours is the only fellowship left in a 40 mile radius that still preaches the Gospel and doesnt dabble in the world version of life as an entity. Sad, but sometimes only the remnant remains. That is why it is called remnant, I s'pose.

All in all, life is good. I dont know why I can say that with my swimming and Part D Social Security in jeopardy, winter coming on, instability in several fringe relatives and the rest of the warts and lumps of daily living. I either have a very short attention span or I am riding on Your everlasting wings.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!