Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, May. 26, 2009 - 1:10 p.m.

Kaintuckee-LOLT style

I am a hillbilly. Spent the holiday most of the time in my room to stay out of trouble, but the time was very profitable. The book Stinking Water has been in my box several weeks. I had looked at the photos, and wanted to read the words, also. The book was published in 1967, and I am sure that life has changed greatly in the hollows of southern Kentucky but the time portrayed was enthralling and much like my history, which has also changed greatly.

Stinking Creek a small area at the extreme bottom of Kentucky. Barbourtown seems to be the nearest town of any size, and the author/photographer told his tale well. When I finished the book, I had to get out the US atlas and learn some facts about Kentucky. It is about half the size of my mountain state, and about 20% larger in population. My state is roughly twice the length and several hundred miles wider.

It was amusing to read of an older couple on Stinking Creek who has 45 yrs of accumulated boxes filled with 'treasures' gathered in the marriage. Sounds just like us. Most of the folks I read about are long gone, and the young ones probably moved out. I will have to do a Google search.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!