Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Jul. 29, 2008 - 11:14 a.m.

Bustin' buttons

I was so proud of my baby girl last nite. Her small jazz group was asked by the city to appear on the bandstand and play for an hour. She plays her big keyboard. The leader plays sax and there is usually a drummer, guitar and bass. The music is just easy listening jazz and the group has fun. She was so reluctant to play for them when she started. She is classically trained and dabbles in Walt Disney style pop and bluegrass, and jazz felt like a whole different galaxy. She has loosened up alot and can enjoy herself a bit. She is always considering it just a short term thing, hoping they will find another keyboardist but it is good for her. Being a full time music teacher out of her home mostly to kids is pretty limiting socially and I am always glad to see her doing other things. Winter is no problem since ski lessons, the philharmonic orchestra and advanced teaching to other instructors keeps her busy, but summers get slow for her. She has been riding her horse twice a week at 2s's roping arena when he takes s in, and is having a good time.

I was worried last year when the bearing store where she has worked since a teen changed hands. She made very good money as office manager, and had lots of perks, plus good bonuses and could schedule in lessons and skiing. Didn't want to get a 9-5 full time job, but keep giving ski and music lessons. That is working well so far.

She was totally unexpected but has been totally rewarding.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!