Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2008 - 9:05 a.m.

Bad news and Good news

First the bad, the electric company raised rates last year, and while we didn't feel the effects in the summer months, they hit like a hammer in January's bill for December power: $316 before discount. The $260 I paid is the highest ever and I was quietly angry at 800 for running the heat lamps and heaters on his rabbits in the shop. I didn't say anything other than discussing the amount of the bill. He decided himself to turn off the heater, but we are still using about 150 kwh a day when it is cold. We don't even keep the house that warm, altho warmer than I would keep it.

He spends much time in the living room and even sleeps in his recliner most of the time, since a semi-upright position is better for his neck circulation, he thinks. Ceiling heat is not very good for sitting arrangements so I am content for him to keep the thermostat up so he can be comfortable. He is also home much more than I, and I am busy in warm offices and buildings. Watching TV downstairs is also cold unless the little heater is runnings and he spends most afternoons and evenings doing that.

Because of the preceding circumstances, after fretting about the bill all day, checking all of 07's electrical usage and finding that last February's use was even higher, I turned to You and gave up the burden, going to sleep with an accepting heart. The very next day at the library--here comes the good part--J called me aside to show me my new schedule that starts in February. 26 hrs instead of 19, only one extra evening with an extra hour on a couple of the other days plus a raise. The extra hours will only be for 2 years for sure, but the raise may stick. Yesterday, she said the raise would probably be almost $3 an hour. That plus the extra hours will double my salary next year, without changing much of my time since one hour more at the end of the day doesn't matter much. The extra day will be Wednesday so BibleStudy can go back on my schedule since I will already be in town, and can just step across the alley a few minutes late to join in.

You are so good to me. I will have to pay over $900 a year into the city retirement fund, but will still be way ahead. It takes 5 years to get vested into the retirement program, and I don't kknow if I have another 5 years or if the 2 years I have already put in as a part-timer will count. Also don't know if I'll have to change from Medicare to city insurance. Guess that bridge will get crossed later. I do know that You are in charge of my times, and the times of my family.

Other changes in their lives, but maybe I'll save that for xanga.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!