Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Aug. 27, 2007 - 10:30 a.m.

Whew!!!

Busy, busy weekend. A library friend gave me some extra from her garden, beans, cabbage, broccoli, tomatoes and cukes. I cooked 5# of hamburger with onions, then put part of it in with most of the cabbage and sauteed them together. If I was German, I would wrap spoonfuls in dough (refrigerator biscuits work well), and bake in pie tins, but I just took the easy way and just eat it without the bread. Yesterday I strung the green beans, cooked two big pots of them with hamburger juice and salt and will put them in baggies tonite for the freezer. Even after stringing them as I cleaned them, the beans still have strings, but have such a good meaty texture, it is worth picking out the strings. This friend is from Georgia, and collected the seed from an old cousin to bring out here to the mountain west. If I still planted green beans, or had kids that gardened, I would have saved some seed, but I don't, so I'll just enjoy eating without guilt.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!