Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Aug. 20, 2007 - 1:59 p.m.

The last enemy

I have been very sad lately. One of my favorite cats died. Smooch (Sheena) was my Maine coon cat and very unique. 1d had rescued her right ahead of the death squad at the pound. She had been neutered and declawed in front, and should have been an ideal house cat but she hade digestion issues and needed to be outdoors.

When 1d moved to town, the cat could not come, and I said I'd take her. I promised her then she would always have a home here and I kept my promise. She was probably the largest cat I have ever had, and she followed me where ever I went in the yard. If I would stop, she would jump into my arms and perch on my shoulder, and if I was on my knees weeding she would curl up on my back. Whenever she was held she would brush her nose under my chin and give a damp kiss.

Almost her last act was to raise her head and attempt to get closer as I bent my head down to her as she lay in a box on the porch. Don't know what killed her, maybe bad kidneys, internal injuries from a vehicle, poison or West Nile. I just know I'll miss her. I put up some pictures at my xanga place. The girls thought it was gruesome to take pics of her in the blanket and her gravesite, but she was worth remembering.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!