Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Jul. 19, 2007 - 2:08 p.m.

3 in a row


The only thing bad about writing every day is finding something to say! I did find some nice library sites. jessamyn.com had a link to a virtual swimming site that I will look into. Might as well go somewhere while I am doing my laps. I haven't been able to swim this week. I haven't been brave enough to get in there very early and then go to work, but if I keep this schedule up, I shall have to get brave.

This week I bought battered apple sticks and little hashbrown patties with onion and green pepper in them. I can hardly wait to get home tonight and try them. I love potatoes, especially fried ones. I don't know whether it is because I am Irish or because that is about all we had to eat on a consistent basis when I was young and it is comfort food to me. All I know is I could live on fried spuds and very little else and so could the kids. We used to go through 6 hundred pound sack a winter in the years when the boys were 10 thru 18. Small hamburger patties, thick white gravy, a little salad and a can of veggies along with homemade bread and Koolaid was supper almost every night unless it was stew or beans. We thought we ate pretty good, and they have no bad memories about meals except for the winter 800 spent in Wyoming and we ate alot of greenbean egg foo yung because of all the eggs the chickens were laying. I had heard a tablespoon of baking soda per gallon of water, and a light on all night would inspire laying, and boy, did it!! 2s hated eggs and it was hard for him but he had hot lunch to look forward to, and hotcakes every morning.

That was in the days before free school lunches and the three boys were always the first to volunteer to work in the lunchroom. They had a good work ethic even when they were young and the cooks babied them and filled them up with special treats.

I guess I had something to say after all, and some sweet memories to recall.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!