Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Oct. 15, 2006 - 3:56 p.m.

I Have Plans!!

Yes, I do!! Since I have been feeling like Bilbo Baggins, I'll watch LOTR again. Maybe I'll watch the cartoon version and start with 'The Hobbit'. The songs in the cartoon versions are great, and I always enjoy them. I am not that fond of the cartooning but the story moves right along.

I also have some great books in the box under the bed and have read several other good ones from the library, in the last few weeks. I looked at my check out stats last month and I had checked out over 600 books already, more that the 500 something in all of 05. Many of those were children's books, as I try to get up to speed with current trends with our younger patrons. Others were those I wanted to try, and since I can take them home one night and bring them back the next day, not have to make them last til my next library visit anymore, I wasn't as choosy. Consequently many went back into the box after a quick skim.

I was feeling a little guilty for reading so much, so I went to Spreed.com, a speed reading site. I am reading comfortably at about 500 wpm, without pushing, so that may be another reason books go fast. Taking speed reading in my Junior year of English has hung on a long time. Mrs. Mary Ellen Whatever got the class enough Reader's Digest for everyone, and had the setup for reading speeds and comprehension. We did that every class for a while, and I learned to read in gulps of words rather than word by word. I know comprehension is not as good, because slow readers tend to remember everything about a book, and not want to read the book again. I love to reread books I like. A few years gives me a whole different perspective and imagination about people and places. Just like a brand new book!

I also have plans to get healthier. No, not a diet. According to one journaller, obesity lessens cognitive ability, so I don't dare lose any weight and get smarter. (heh-heh) I got another bottle of glucosamine for the joints, and one of Mature vitamins. That is the only vitamin I have ever taken that I can tell when I don't. Although I do notice when I drink SureJell and when I don't. I also wonder why I am so dumb or lazy to neglect to take it regularly since I don't have near so much joint pain. when I do.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!