Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006 - 2:15 p.m.

Food------ridgeflower pic

Just discovered a new way to put a pic in my entry. Do it first! Then I can type all I want to and not have to worry about skipping back and forth from composing to editing. Duh. Whe do I have to learn everything the hard way? Just lucky, I guess.

I did some web research on the soldier's family I wrote about last time. What a surprise! Some of the assumptions I had made were not well-founded. The home place had been sold just a few years after we left. Plus the dad who seemed so much older than us when we were there was only 6 years older than 800. The oldest girl's husband was several years older than the dad was. Both men have since died, and so has one of the little roly-polies. Tragedies occur often in some families, and I know it never gets easier. I haven't found an address yet, but I do know where the girls live or did live recently, and will look thru their phonebooks.

It is easy to draw careless conclusions and then just accept those as facts. It was a very revealing web search, but mostly about myself. I wonder if everyone does things like that. If so, no wonder there is so much miscommunication.


This pic must be above the tree line. We live in a beautiful part of the country, but my days of seeing it up close and personal are over. I can remember hiking up one of the long draws on Boulder, clear to the summer snow patches. The kids were 7,6,5,and 4, and all made it up, too. It was always a special event to climp up Two Peak in back of the cabin at least once a summer.

Those were good years, but so are these. I am glad 2d is keeping up the climbing traditions and now introducing e to them, also. Life goes on. It changes in some places, adjusts in others. I can sit on the deck or down on the bench and look at the mountain range, yet feel no desire to climb it. Been there, done that. I may never even drive to the lodge or the lake in the crater. That's OK. 2d takes pics of them both and sends them to me. Vicarious living is great, too.

Oh, yeah...The name of this entry is Food. I was going to write about my good brunch, and what is in the oven for supper. Guess I got Distracted. It's that AAADD. Age Activated Attention Deficit Disorder. You know, where you go to wash the car, but find your keys, lose the remote, forget the pop, etc.etc.etc. and end up with the water runnning all night in the driveway.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!