Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Jul. 14, 2006 - 9:55 a.m.

Great day at the library

That's what I had yesterday, and I look forward to another. I love helping folks find information both in the stacks and the computer. The only sad part is having to tell non-city residents that a card will cost $63. Library lovers tried to get a district going that would let all residents of both counties be eligible for free (paid by taxes) cards to both libraries but it failed by a large margin. The burden would just be too heavy on farmers since it would have been based on property worth. Households would have been a better way to base it. That would have been equal to all.

Some states have made provision for anyone living in the state to use any library in the state. New York even goes so far as to provide delivery services of material from bigger libraries to smaller ones in each town and village.
I guess one pays for what one considers valuable. I would love to swim at the local club but not enough to pay $50 a month. I can take advantage of summer programs that allow exercise classes for $30 for daily summer use, maybe even year round. I started out paying $6 library fee a year when we moved to this area, and back in those days, $6 was alot to this mom of 5. The jump to $63 was the biggest one and took place after the election failed. Maybe it was spite, but not by the library. Fees and rules are set by the city council not the library board and director. Fortunately free public libraries always allow use of their books and magazines, just not off the premises. Our little library has courtesy computers and free wireless access, even to the point of allowing laptops to be plugged into available electrical outlets.

Another fortunate occurrence for non-card holders is the Bookseller run by a library auxilliary group with paperbacks available for 25 cents apiece, plus the availability of books to purchase at the thrift stores and yard sales. No such things were available when I was younger, so I read what I had over and over when no library services were there for me.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!