Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Jun. 26, 2006 - 10:50 a.m.

Either......or..with k pic

It seems I can either read or write, but not both consistently. I rarely miss out on reading the journals that I follow. Some I read every day, some I check only once a week, and some I go to rarely.

Having things in common isn't the criteria I use for amounts of visits. A couple of folks I visit live lives so different from mine that we may not even be on the same planet, a few others lead daily lives that are almost exactly like mine. I appreciate both. One or two are just such obnoxious scamps that I just drop in occasionally to see if they are still alive. Since I have that same recipe in my close family, I do much the same thing in home issues.

Actually I haven't been in very close contact with any of the family outside these walls lately. I have been working almost every day, and fighting pain the whole way. The lower level is completely dry now but I have done very little to restore it to normal, whatever that may be. Trying to take more care of the yard has occupied much of my extra time. 800 is on his 'neighborhood blight' kick again, and the only solution he sees is moving. He has been a runner his whole life, and I have been a stayer. Both temperaments have their plusses and minuses. I never know when to quit and he never sticks anything tough out. That statement is probably a gross exaggeration both ways.

One of the main themes of Ayn Rand's book Atlas Shrugged is revealed at the end of the book. It is a subtle theme, and I may have just assumed its importance. But when all the makers have left the world and retreated to their mountain hideaway to create what they want to without chains to tie them down, the outside world dissolves into chaos. The micro-managers cannot create, only put the creaters into boxes and harnesses. As they search for the makers and creaters, the reaction from the sought ones is "Get out of my way!"

I recall the picture book story of the dog in the manger. He did not want to eat the hay but he would not let the cows eat it either. That is such a queer attitude. If I don't want to do something, what does it matter if someone else does? Let 'em.

Grandgirl's other auntie brought me copies of the rest of her graduation pictures. J A has always been difficult to tolerate. She is one of three that I have known in my life. Being kind to them has always been a challenge, and marks other's characters out also as they tolerate them or not. What it is about these women is hard to pinpoint. They all talk alot but so do others. They tend to be whiners, which could be a partial explanation. They all have the same effect on almost everyone they are in contact with. I wonder if they know each other, and if so, what they think about each other.

In any case, it was nice of her to bring them to me, but I am wondering what the rest of the story is. K offered to bring me the set of pictures and I was going to scan them into the computer. J A had the pics and instead of giving them back to k, made copies instead. The cost in picture paper and colored ink was mentioned, and I offered to reimburse her, but that wasn't wanted since one of the girls had brought her some picture paper and she was going to make them buy her a color cartridge. It still makes me wonder.

I have lost my wallet somewhere. I had it Friday when I bought a shirt and pants, and it wasn't in my purse when I looked for my offering. It had about $150 and my indentification in it, and I should be very upset. It may be at the library, as I could have taken it out to look for my keys at closing time, or it may have fallen out under the desk where I keep my purse. I'll see this afternoon when I go in, then maybe I'll get upset. I think it is just the start of many such happenings as I get older, altho I have done such things in younger years also.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!