Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Jan. 23, 2006 - 10:50 a.m.

Missing Water

You never miss the water til the well runs dry. That is so true. Yesterday was great, and to think that was the pattern of most of my Sundays for a great many years. I didn't appreciate the times until they were gone. And it was my own fault (kinda) that they left. Actually there were several faults.

For years and years after some of the kids left home, they would come for Sunday dinner if they were in the area. Because I always cooked a big meal on that day after church, it was nothing to add a few more potatoes to the meal, another serving of veggies, a bigger salad, a Jello salad and make some biscuits. When 2s and the bb split up, he and the girls always came over on the weekends he had them. That was about their only taste of civilized living, and was a good learning experience for them.

When 800 started doing services at bigtown, that all stopped. 2d and I would have to meet him right after church and travel to bigtown, have several services and come home in the evening. After a couple hours of sleep, I would go to work, get off in the morning, and go to school. No chance at all to do a big Sunday meal. Later, when he didn't do the services on Sunday anymore, I still worked nights and the family dinners evolved into Birthday dinners on Sunday with whatever close birthdays there were, usually about once a month.

More things happened and the dinners were cancelled leaving only holiday dinners, then the big disaster happened and we didn't even have holiday dinner one year. This past year was different, and I decided to make the rest of the Sundays different too, so i try to have 2d and the girls over at least once a month, with whatever other families can come. Yesterday was one such dinner, and it was great.

Between diets and tender teeth, I am careful what I fix for meat, and ham seems to be a good choice. I didn't have real ham but did have half a turkey ham so that is what we had. Everyone loved everything and ate heartily. Mashed potatoes, gravy, green beans, red jello with fruit and aerosol whipped cream, olives, green salad and orange juice were dispatched quickly but the hit of the meal was the biscuits. Just the plain old rolled out quick dough I've always made, with butter, honey, and grape jelly to top them. If fact, I couldn't find (or think of) the recipe right off, so I used the dumpling recipe I had handy, since the flour and shortening proportions were about the same. I'll use that recipe from now on.

I hope we can continue on the way we have since Thanksgiving. I'll never take our traditions for granted again, and if it means a little discomfort for a short time, that's OK too.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!