Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Nov. 11, 2005 - 11:27 a.m.

On my plate-mother liberty pic

Let's see....there is a math quiz which is making out a presentation to parents about a change to constuctivist math teaching and showing them three such problems to convince them. That is going to be quite an assignment since I don't think I believe very strongly in constructivist teaching in math for children past the early years. It involves lots of little scenarios, and I think drills, plain old math problems and lots of them, and formulas are much better. Probably because of what I saw in private school. Kids came in with lots of math credits but nobody knew basic math facts and forget about fractions, those were long gone. Due Monday.

Another big piece of stuff on my plate is a two-page MLA paper about another state's assessment tests compared with ours. It is due tomorrow so I had better chew on that first. Then there is another online test due next Tuesday, but it is the kind that I have to begin and go till I am done.

Some Powerpoint slides to put together, and five inter-library loan assignments to complete plus the usual portfolios and various class journal assignments. I feel stuffed already, so what I am going to do is get in the spare room closet and drag out my autoharp which I have been wanting to use in Sunday School. Can't get my fingers to work on the guitars or banjo anymore, and I have 1 to 6 kids from 2 years to 9 years in that room. Singing sound like a way to keep things lively.

We have lots of bits and pieces of material never used, and I just tell stories using that and the coloring from the extra materials. The Wordless Book and some Jungle Doctor stories are always available, and I have candy cereal! What more could anyone want?

Sure wish this were true instead of the red and blue kids fighting. Maybe she needs to get out the belt.


|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!