Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Jul. 12, 2005 - 2:29 p.m.

Gr-r-roan------with additional comments which make the joke even funnier!


Roy Rogers and his wife, Dale Evans were spending the summer on their ranch when they discovered a mountain cat was killing ranch calves. Roy took his jeep and hunted for the big cat for over a week. Tired and defeated, Roy returned to the ranch where Dale encouraged him to take the weekend off. Roy needed some new shoes, so they moseyed into town, did their shopping, and returned to the ranch.

After putting the shoes in his closet, Roy returned to the hills, hunting, only to come home once more defeated. This time, he discovered that the big cat, in Roy's absence, had entered the ranchhouse and tore it up, chewing up furniture, carpet, drapes, even the new shoes in the closet. Determined and enraged, Roy ret;urned to the hunt. This time, he succeeded in shooting the big cat so he slung him over the hood of the jeep and came back to the ranch.

As he pulled to a stop in the yard, Dale came out on the porch, glimpsed the dead animal, and shouted, "Pardon me, Roy, is that the cat who chewed your shoes up?"

COMMENTS:I clicked your banner today! I am blonde, so maybe that's why, but I didn't get it... But I enjoyed reading you anyway! :> -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- It's a good joke but you got the punch line wrong. It goes: Pardon me Roy...is that the Cat who chewed your new shoes. It's a take-off on the song "Chattanooga Choo Choo -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Glimpse is indirect. You glimpse at something. Anonymous | 07.14.05 - 1:46 am | #

This is hilarious!!! I knew this joke sounded a little weird, but I just went on. 'new shoes' instead of 'shoes up' is how it is supposed to be. The first commenter may have been confused because of my mistake or possibly because of being too young to know the original song. I have a couple more very bad jokes like this, that would only be understood by folks of an appropriate age. Any body remember 'sounds like a broken record'? I am going to copy down R's favorite joke tomorrow, her way and the real way which isn't near as funny. As for the 'glimpse' commenter, that's OK At 63, the wordsmith is getting worn out. I find I am having trouble remembering the best synonym, after a lifetime of being able to choose innumerable words to express just the nuance I wanted. I even put 'thing' or 'stuff' in a paper, and then use the thesaurus later!! Oh, how the mighty are fallen!!!!! Don't chortle too much, your turn is coming. Actually I wrote 'chortle too loud' but changed it because chortling is done quietly.


|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!