Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Mar. 29, 2005 - 10:26 a.m.

Backtracking

Where to start? Terri is still hanging in there physically. I know how hard this is for her parents, especially since they may not be allowed to be there all the time. The staff gets very short when they think it is just a body there, and they are having to tend it. We Americans have so isolated ourselves from the actual act of dying that it very rarely happens in our homes anymore. Of course, if that were the Terri Schiavo situation, this whole scenario would not be playing out this way. Husband would probably turned over the home care to Mom years ago, if Mom was willing, and Mom would be feeding her even now.

I can remember a few years ago when 1d was still in nursing, and her patient B was in worse shape than Terri. Dad and Mom had both consigned him to the nursing home and didn't visit much. The nurses had most of the interaction with him and he was a favorite of 1d's. She said he was still in there and sometimes read to him when there were a few moments. She teased him and always made sure when she was on night duty that he had some cartoons to watch. He had a favorite character, and interacted in a way noticeable to the nurses when that character was playing. At one time, there was discussion about removing nutrition and hydration from him, and the nurses rebelled. The administration and whoever else was involved backed off, and B died at a later time, from a cold, I think. He was only in his early 20's.

I think I am going to have to get a Xanga place again just to get to some favorite friends. It is to hard to circle round and round the block. Some of them are on AL but they usually don't have a path to xanga there, so off for a walk I go.

I have lost my COBRA insurance, I think. During the time I usually make the 35% payment to HCTC, the trouble was going on and I must have just had a senior moment. I have a set pattern of getting the bill and putting it in my purse, and purchasing a MO the next time I am in town so I can get it sent to HCTC. This time for some reason, I stuck the whole invoice up above my desk in the folder. I was sitting at my desk most of the time during the trouble and was probably mentally distracted.

By the time I discovered the mistake, it was too late to send $114 to HCTC. I could have (and still can till Thursday) sent $350 to Insurance, but I only have 2 more months of coverage anyway. After that I can have coverage with another provider until October when the TAA program is over, but I think I am going to wing it. I did some figuring and with the full payment this month, another full payment with a state qualifier, and 6 payments to HCTC, the total would be well over $1500. I have never yet got past the deductible, and only used it last year for cheaper prescriptions, which were nowhere near the cost of the premiums. Unless catastrophe strikes, I think I will go back to the old days of no insurance, until Medicare is available. I am not a doctor goer unless the situation is dire, and my level of dire is 'near death'. I shall ask the doctor for the most inexpensive meds for blood pressure. In fact, since I lost 15 pounds recently, the pressure has dropped to 130 over 80. I will put myself in Your hands, where I am anyway.

I have another quiz in Theatre Appreciation today and a review to turn in. Haven't got the grade back on the first review so I don't really know what is expected. I did get on the President's Honor list last semester for 4.0 and invited to join the PTK honor society. I did join and will get a nice little pin, a black t-shirt, and a resume recommendation if I ever need one. I don't think they put the memberships in the paper. I sure hope not, or I will get teased for seeking the praise of man.

I am almost to the point of just desiring to pass my classes with B's which I can easily do with just attending, participating and turning in assignments. Can I give up A's? Maybe.

800 moved the metal fence panels to corral some of his junk. 1s's pickup is now facing out the fence. Is he having a good chuckle about that, Father, seeing his Wild One fenced? Give him a big hug from me.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!