Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Mar. 05, 2005 - 10:12 a.m.

Healthy, Wealthy, and Wise

At this moment I feel all three, but wait till I leave this room. Then, we'll see.

I just got back from the Health Fair where I had blood taken for a comprehensive test, cost $40, and got lots of pens and pencil, pill boxes, lotion, a super dayplanner like I used to use each year at work, and other interesting sundries. My blood pressure was 162/98 which was no surprise since I missed taking the medicine 3 or 4 times in the last 2 weeks, but even then it has been running about 145/90. My little wrist machine is quite accurate as it was comparable with the reading this morning. The trick is holding my wrist at heart level instead of down on a table.

800 didn't go. He said he couldn't wait that long to eat. Last year was the first time he ever saw the results of blood work and he was high on the glucose and cholesterol readings. He has lost about 70 pounds since then and stays on a strict diet. He wouldn't show me the results until a month ago. He was mad at my readings. I have had three done over the last 10 years and the ones the last 2 years aren't much different than the one 10 years ago. My glucose is on the high side but not over the line and I had usually ate during the 12 hours since I was on the job and was tasting product (and other things). My cholesterol readings were also on the high end but again not out of range. I don't know why. I eat lots of fats, starch, sugar and eggs. Losing weight would probably bring the numbers down significantly, but would not be fun. I might live longer, or would it just seem longer?

Anyway, the test last year spurred 800 to improve himself as much as possible so he wouldn't go before I do. Couldn't have that, I might do unacceptable things. I'm glad he's improved his health, who would check the oil, and get out my snowtires each fall for me to take in to put on? I never counted on outliving him anyway, even tho I used to joke about moving to the ocean when he died. I don't think about moving to the ocean anymore. I love it, but there are too many drawbacks, and too much work involved getting loose from here. I shall just leave it all for the kids to sort through. Revenge!

In a while, I shall go to bigtown for a library lab. 1d, d and e are going along, too. They don't get to go anywhere since she can't drive. She wants to get some groceries while I go to my lab, so I will drop them off at the center. I think I will check out the sales at Office Max now to see if I want to stop there.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!