Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Mar. 04, 2005 - 11:55 a.m.

Flint

"For the Lord God will help me; therefore shall I not be confounded, therefore have I set my face like a flint, and I know that I shall not be ashamed" (Is 50:7 AV).

I love this verse. I like thinking about the soft heart You gave me after taking out my stony one, but my face must be like a flint. That is like gritting my teeth when I am determined.

But I need to see how the KJV says it.


7For the Lord GOD will help me; therefore shall I not be confounded: therefore have I set my face like a flint, and I know that I shall not be ashamed.

Hey AV must mean KJV to EE. Now isn't that last sentence cryptic?

Last nite was my first class in Quickbooks. I don't have the program except in a personal form available at home, but can use the campus computer lab when I go in for classes. There have been 3 part-time office jobs open in the last year that have all mentioned needing a familiarity with Quickbooks so I want to have a notion of what I am looking at just in case I ever want to consider that type of work.

Actually I enjoy the receptionist work I am doing a few days a month at the big factory. All the HR ladies bring me simple things to do, like auditing a year end income list, comparing it to another Excel program just to make sure they didn't overlook a figure, or putting together a new employee folder, or entering car pass numbers, etc.etc.etc. I get cut a lot of slack because I am only a temp and am not expected to do much beyond basic switchboard work, and that, in turn, gives me time to get the big picture, which I need because of my age and learning style.

Maybe I could just be a roving receptionist, going here one day and there another. Just the right kind of work for a busybody. Actually I don't consider myself a busybody because I don't like doing harm through gossip to anyone. But I do like people and knowing about their lives, but just enough to form one of my shallow relationships with no responsiblity in the 'friend' department.

800 told me yesterday that I was a bibliomaniac surrounding myself with books and magazines and classes. He is very likely correct. That is probably my addiction. A dry drunk, that is what I am. I do know that in my younger years I felt panicky at the thought of nothing to read. That is where I started down the road to ruin as far as collecting books and magazines. Being out of something to read is not a concern any more. Not only do I have a lot of material to read for the first time, I have a huge collection of things to read again. That is one of my favorite things to do, pick a favorite author and re-read all their books. It is about time to do that with Frances Parkinson Keyes again. Maybe Elizabeth Ogilvie, too. Janice Holt Giles, Ayn Rand, Dick Francis, Tolkien, Walter Farley, Jane Austen, Mary O'Hara....oh, I have so much to read!! So many books, so little time!!!

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!