Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Jan. 07, 2005 - 11:02 a.m.

uh-huh,uh-huh, uh,huh-pic & NEW WORD

I am getting quicker at doing pictures but have the sneaking suspicion that I am taking the long way around. I should just keep doing the tutorials until it becomes second nature. Isn't that the way everything in life is? Practice, practice, practice.

The HR Judy called last nite and I have to go out to the office for an hour or so while she shows me how to do an Excel incentive program she is keeping track of, then I am to replace her next Monday, Tuesday, part of Friday and the following Monday. Knowing how to input data in that program will give me something to do in between switchboard work. I did a bunch of input for her my last day in an Excel for the company store purchases by departments. I go very slow so I don't make any mistakes, but did make some new discoveries about using Excel. That is one computer dohickey I need to learn more of since so much work is done that way. First I need to learn the lingo. I think spreadsheets are what I work with, but I am not sure. I could look in the big book on the chair in back of me. In fact, I could even get the big book out and do some projects, but where's the fun in that?

I sure miss the kids. I miss the hope that one will just happen to drop by for a while. That will not be happening until You perform a miracle, but You are in that business, so I do have that hope. In the meantime (or mean time) I am the squeaky wheel. I am the only wheel so I get greased alot. As the sheep before the shearers is dumb, so He answered not again. The Saviour did that, and I can too with Your help.

I read somewhere in the last few days that riches do not consist in what you have, but what you can do without. I love that idea. A willful relinquishment that makes life simpler. The FlyLady recommends filling grocery bags with stuff to get rid of, so many every day, I think. I will have to check out that site again.

I love to look at the gazing drop in the summer as it catches the sunlight through the leaves. It looks just as pretty in the snowlight.

EE gave me a new word or rather a real definition for a word I am slightly familiar with: accidie, which is an old word for boredom, but a word that includes depression, sloth, irritability, lazy languor, and bitterness. "This rotten sin," wrote Chaucer, "maketh a man heavy, wrathful and raw." Accidie is such a complete word for what I may have been feeling and it describes something so ugly that I don't want to go there again. I see folks in that state all the time. Now I know what to call it, but I had better find out how to pronounce it before I start using it...............................Oh,oh, a little research and the word gets even worse: Stemming from the Latin acedia, this term refers to one of the Seven Deadly Sins. It is usually translated to mean Sloth, although that English word does not quite capture the real meaning. Sloth is usually thought of as mere laziness, but accidie means much more. It includes the idea of becoming numb, unfeeling, unmotivated, perhaps due to despair or apathy... That is getting pretty ugly, indeed. Some of the Googles even had it paired with athiesm. Thank You for delivering me from that. I knew it was bad, knew it was sin, but it is even worse than I thought. Accidie=ak' si dee

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!