Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Jan. 06, 2005 - 12:59 p.m.

Better-pic,backyardsnow

Well, I seem to have recovered from the depression. Doggone if I know what caused it. Lonely? Bored? Those are words that haven't cropped up in my vocabulary very often. One thing I do know is that you can't touch pitch and not get your fingers sticky and black. Ugliness is contagious, and destroyers destroy. That is 3 things so I guess I know I can't count, either.

Back of the clouds, the sun is always shining. I have had the urge to play the piano lately, but that is not going to happen. It is buried under junk and dust. I remember the little chord organ I bought in about 1969. I got it used along with some simple books that had Blue Spanish Eyes, Alley Cat, 500 Miles and some other songs of that era. I set it up on a stand in my bedroom and had lots of fun. Later after I got the piano, the kids had fun with it because it had numbers that went with the books and they could make music easily. It is still somewhere around under the stairs or in the garage. It developed a wheeze but we stilll played around on it.

It has been snowing steadily but very lightly for over 24 hours now. Must be about 4 to 6 inches outside now. I took the digicam out and snapped a few pics. Some weren't bad, so I'll put them here. Forecast is for lots more in the next few days. I had better let the girls know so they can be prepared. As always, the first thing I will do is fill the tub. There is lots of food of all kinds in this house. If the electricity went off for very long, we would have to dig around and jury-rig something up. There are some little oil stoves out in the shop, a propane tank with gas in it, and our vehicles with full tanks. I can dig out blankets and we can huddle up. Times like that are when you need a big family dog. I have always wanted something indoors that we could burn wood in, not necessarily a fireplace. I bought 800 the making for a barrel stove one winter and he set it up in the shop, complete with stovepipe. It could probably be hauled into the dining area or even down here, if a prolonged emergency happened. It is just a 50 gallon barrel with a special front that sits on a set of legs, but anything can be burned in it.

That is the nice thing about still having a shop with years of self-sufficient living equipment from desert jobs in it. Living rough is not something I would look forward to doing, but it would be possible. That is another of those worry about later items.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!