Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Jan. 05, 2005 - 1:17 p.m.

More, please?

My case manager said I could add another course of study if it would make me more employable, especially since schools in our area usually use aides as librarians in the lower grades. This opens up a whole new can of worms in the form of classes to take online. There are at least 8 that I know can be taken in the General Educator course, plus more that are offered at the local campus without traveling 40 miles. Hopefully this will enable me to stay fulltime enrolled for the remaining semesters of the Library course.

Now I have to rein in the temptation to pile on more classes for this semester. I have 17 credits so far, and could easily just keep piling them on. "But what if the TRA programs run out before I get them all done?" So what, there is no tuition charge for me at all, except for the computer lab fees, and used books could always be obtained off the internet or through campus bulletin boards. I'll just see what the first few weeks hold as far as schedules. Right now I have to go into the campus every day for at least one class. I would like to arrange things so if I have to go for a 4 or 7 class, I also have a 7 or 4 class to take. If I drop Theatre Appreciation and take Fundamentals of Education, that completey frees up one and gives me 2 classes instead of just one on another night. I have to do some more studying of the schedule then run a new possiblility past the case manager.

With things so slow around home, it is easy to get into the trap of biting off more than I can chew in the future. It is hard for me to understand why the local campus is not filled up with us grey students when the tuition is free. Especially when more and more studies are showing the effects of continued learning on staving off Alzheimer's.

Of course all this is going to come to a screaming halt when the retraining is over. My monthy income will drop to less than $600. I hope I can keep everything going. I shall have to sit down and make a year's budget of lights, water, car and home insurance, property tax, phone,and internet access and see what remains for food and gifts. Then decide how big a job to look for.

Working in a public library is much more appealing than a school library, and I am pretty sure I can get hired for the first local opening that comes up after graduation. I would like to work in one of the upper grade school libraries but would probably need a bigger degree or special qualifications as library assistant. It takes a Master's degree to get on at the High School level, and I am not sure I can get on with the time, money or location situation I shall be in.

All this is just one more reason I am go glad to be Your child. You know just what lies ahead. I have even been wondering if this may be the year I come Home. If it is,help me get ready.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!