Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Jun. 19, 2004 - 9:39 a.m.

Bang,Bang -poem and pic

Yep, been banging my head again. I am trying to get on Yahoo message so my 2 algebra students can get ahold of me and vice versa. When they do call, we spend an hour or two on the phone. Perhaps they can come over. It is not working right now to meet at the school because I am only there once a week, and they have other things going before and after my class. With gas so expensive, i am not going to make special trips to town.

Went in to visit 1d and kids yesterday. Everything looks great. She has a space to move her piano but not the washer and dryer. No drinking is allowed in the open at the apartment complex except on your own patio, so the congregation will not be totally negative. Bad language cannot be stopped. That is the way most people communicate nowadays, and all one can do is see it doesn't take place in your own space. There are always drawbacks to living in a community. Everything looked so clean and neat at 1d's place. I hope they will want to keep it that way. The management holds monthly inspections and the maintenance man is an old friend who already had to fix a closet door yesterday. A former student of mine lives in the building in front of them, and her daughter is a former classmate of d's and the niece of the maintenance friend. The girl's other aunt wants to get her started soon with piano lessons with 2d so the circle gets bigger.

I took them all down to the library and got cards for them. They were so excited. Internet access goes with the card. They had cards 2 years ago but incurred $40 worth of fines which I later paid and have rubbed it in ever since. We made a bargain that if future fines occur, I am going to pay them and the fine will be worked off at my house in house or yard work at $3 an hour. I am not going to let the library suffer for irresponsibility, but I do want them to have the perks that come with a card. It also eased the mind of the librarian to kknow I am backing them up. In the 31 years I have been going to this library, I have paid less than $10 in fines, and lost only one book which was found later in the stacks. Somebody just din't get it checked back in after I returned it. That has happened to me before there but I can usually go right to the place and locate the "lost" book. It would be a rare occasion when I didn't know I had truly lost a book. I keep all the books in a box that fits under the bed, and only take out the one I am reading which I keep in the bookcase headboard. If I read in the livingroom or the deck, the book goes back in the bedroom as soon as I no longer am reading it. If I take it with me in the car, it remains tucked in whatever bag I have with me. When I consider that the amount is about 300-400 books a year, it is a wonder I haven't lost some of them.

I have several tasks to do today. K's birthday dinner is tomorrow. I will bake a cake, make macaroni salad and whatever, and buy chicken, pickles and chips tomorrow after church. We may celebrate 2d's birthday then too. The girls will be 16 and 30, both milestones of some sort, I guess.

It stormed most of the late afternoon and evening yesterday. Just poured at various times. The following is one of the poems on my storm tape.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~``

Signs of Rain--

Forty reasons for not accepting an invitation of a friend to make an excursion with him.

The hollow winds begin to blow,

The clouds look black, the glass is low;

Thee soot falls down, the spaniels sleep,

The spiders from their cobwebs peep.

Last night the sun went pale to bed,

The moon in halos hid her head;

The boding shepherd heaves a sigh,

For see, a rainbow spans the sky!

The walls are damp, the ditches smell,

Closed is the pink-eyed pimpernel.

Hark how the chairs and tables crack!

Old Betty's nerves are on the rack;

Loud quacks the duck, the peacocks cry,

The distant hills are seeming nigh.

How restless are the snorting swine!

The busy flies disturb the kine;

Low o'er the grass the swallow wings,

The cricket, too, how sharp he sings!

Puss on the hearth, with velvet paws,

Sits wiping o'er her whiskered jaws;

Through the clear streams the fishes rise,

And nimbly catch the incautious flies.

The glowworms, numerous and light,

Illumed the dewy dell last night;

At dusk the squalid toad was seen,

Hopping and crawling o'er the green;

The whirling dust the wind obeys,

And in the rapid eddy plays;

The frog has changed his yellow vest,

And in a russet coat is dressed.

Though June, the air is cold and still,

The mellow blackbird's voice is shrill;

My dog, so altered in his taste,

Quits mutton bones on grass to feast;

And see yon rooks, how odd their flight!

They imitate the gliding kite,

And seem precipitate to fall,

As if they felt the piercing ball.

'Twill surely rain; I see with sorrow,

Our jaunt must be put off to-morrow.

Edward Jenner

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This poem has almost been lost. Very few references to it on the net, and many of them not complete.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!