Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-09 - 4:07 p.m.

'Sunday nite'

It is almost time to go to bed and then get up to a new 'Monday morning'. I have to wait for my lab coat to dry and then I shall be off to lullaby land. Why am I doing laundry at 'midnite on Sunday'? I NEVER did that in the real world. This elder one is just having a little trouble catching up.

I did go with 1d to bigtown today. Had a marvelous time as always. It is very satisfying to spend money and actually enjoy it. I have not done that very often down through the years. Christmas season is always such a good excuse especially when I have put by a little money for months to do my shopping. Cos had sets of young people's classics, 8 to a set. I bought 3 different sets, one for each older grand. Heidi, Black Beauty, Call of the Wild, Little Women, Count of Monte Cristo, 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, and 18 more. What a treasure! I am sure the grands won't appreciate them for years yet, but some day--------. I just got weary of buying clothes that don't suit, toys that don't play, duplicates of duplicates, and the 'in fashion' toy of the season. It is very satisfying to buy a book, and even more satisfying to buy a set. This is the kind of present that will be around for a long time, and I won't run out of choices. Of course, a little green stuff stuck in the present never hurts either.

I shall never forget Mrs. F, our neighbor, when I was small ( between 5 and 7, most likely because we had already left our little acreage with the orchard, stone fences, barns and out building by the spring of '48'). She had large(to me) glassed-in bookshelves and when I would go through the orchard to her house, she would have me wash my hands and then I could look through the riches on the shelves. I don't know when I learned to read, but I must have known how to read well, because she gave me good editions of children's classics for Christmas and continued to do so even after we had moved 100 miles away. I am afraid I never grew up fast enough and matured enough to tell her what a benefactor she was in my life. Hans Brinker and Ivanhoe have gone with me all my life, along with Beautiful Joe and The Five Little Peppers. My very favorite was Daddy-Long-Legs. What a romantic story and when found out a movie had been made of that book, I longed to see it. I haven't thought of the movie for years. I must see if I can find it on Ebay.

I don't think adults realize what an impact they might have on a child's life just by sharing a common love. I have been blessed all my life with adults who shared that way. I hope I can pass some along.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!