Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-19 - 10:58 a.m.

A death in the (cyber)family

I have wondered what would happen if one of my web family died. When one reads someone's journal day after day after day, they begin to seem like part of the family. So many that I read are getting along in years and I am no spring chicken myself! This week I found out. Mike Vickrey,59, of bandon.com died of a heart attack at a Chamber of Commerce luncheon where he was presenting the work of his website to the Chamber hoping for recompense for his work. I am going to miss him. the website was the first place I went to every morning for the last 2 years. Two webcams showed what was going on at the ocean and fresh local pictures along with messages appeared everyday. Often he would show his back yard flowers or tomato patch and Hanna the Wonderdog appeared regularly too. I have no idea what Mike looked like, but whenever I sent an email regarding his site, he always replied. We shall miss him and I doubt if there will be a replacement. I am sad not only for his passing but for my loss of the ocean. Each day I felt a calming of my spirit as I gazed on the surf, the beach and the home of my heart.

Goodbye, friend, and goodbye, ocean.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!