Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-07-29 - 10:50 a.m.

Monday plans

Well, maybe Tuesday and Wednesday, Thursday, Friday plans too. I have until next Monday nite off. I need to shampoo the livingroom and hall carpet. Beige is not a good color for main traffic patterns but it definitely worked in lightening up those areas. I would have opted for the green I chose for the bedroom if there had been a big enough piece, but anything but a remnant whould have been twice as expensive. Anyway, I may need a new adapter for the kitchen sink to the rug cleaner. The other major chore is hunting for an adapter for the digital camera. That will involve a lot of leg work, I am afraid. I do not travel well or shop well anymore.

I have been trying to archive the older entries in this journal. I did the first batch OK but keep getting confused and losing entries, so I have to go back and replace everything. The HTML is what keeps confusing me and since my memory is so short-------well, I forget why since!!! Guess I shall try it again.

Yesterday I used my most recent eBay purchase. I finally found a Thompson Chain Reference 4th edition. It is a deeper red, and a smaller size than my old one, but just exactly the same as the one I got in 1971. Even the page numbers are the same and since I wear glasses now, the smaller print is OK. I held it easily in church, along with a notebook, and it was so nice to be organized again. Our church has chairs instead of pews and juggling purse, Bible, notebook and bulletin is awkward. I do need to get some index tabs, as I don't want to thumb index this one. I know where all the books are but many are so close together that arthritic fingers are too slow to keep up with references.

1d said she wanted it because it was just like the one we got her when she graduated and went to Bible school. Since I gave her the brand new 5th edition along with Thomas Kinkade cover($80 value altogether) last March that just wasn't working out for me, and since she hasn't been able to locate it and has been using the new Scofield in the denim cover d made for me thatI was carrying in the car, I don't thnik I will give her this one. I only paid $35 for it with shipping included, and it is practically unmarked. A few dashes in the Gospels, and a very few elsewhere don't bother me at all.

The nicest part is that I was so looking forward to it all week, that I even asked 2d if it had come in to her work during the week, and if it might have come in Saturday's mail. Imagine my delight to wake up early Sunday morning to find a package by my bedside! The postman had left it at the front door and someone found it and brought it in after I had gone to bed. Thank You. I know that a Bible is a Bible but at my age there is such comfort in familiarity. I would have managed alright if I couldn't have gotten this one, but it is such a lovely serendipity. That is why I am kdip.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!