Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-07-13 - 2:08 p.m.

Burning up

The whole world is burning up, or that is how it seems at times. What a horrible fate. Science fiction has explored almost every scenario in one genre or another. Last summer at the end of August, I remember the day at 800's bro funeral when even the day had a red cast. This summer it is just hot.

2 days in a row of 100+ weather is unusual here in the mountain region around us. August may be hot in the daytime but it always cools off at night so there is a starting over place. The Columbia Basin of Washington and even more so around Pasco sees temps in the 100's much of the summer and there is no relief at night so we are spoiled in this area to eve3n be complaining. I can remember getting out of bed and lying on the tile floor next to the bed in order to sleep.

It is no wonder tempers flare in the Middle East when hot weather is so common. The hot wind that blows in southern Europe is called the Mistral and I have read studies indicating that violence increases then in personal situations.

'Only mad dogs and Englishmen go out in the midday sun'. That saying was in effect when Britain ruled India. Business as usual for the military when all the indigenous people would retreat during the the heat of the day to less strenuous activity. Women and children would be sent to the cooler hill country, but the work of the nation must go on. England was such a great power in the whole world for so many years. Sometimes I think the US just skated in on her coat-tails.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!