Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-04-02 - 12:55 p.m.

INCONSEQUENTIALS

A week of day-to-day contentment. I have been off for Easter shutdown since last Thursday am. The bigger grandgirls came over Friday and I took them to the youth ranch for a 4-H practice horse judging. Then back home to wait for d and e who spent the rest of the day here. Saturday, I made 4 different flavors of Jello eggs and a chocolate bundt cake with Twinkie frosting sprinkled with tinted coconut.

The big grandgirls called that night to make plans to go to SS and church with us. I baked a big ham for Sunday dinner. Mashed potatoes and gravy, rolls with honey butter and berry jam, French-cut green beans with bacon, pickles and olives, tomato, celery and cheese salad and fruit punch, and cake completed the meal. e stayed the night because 1d had an early shift and d had to go back to school.

She and I have spent 3 or 4 days together now. We get along quite well when we are alone. She has watched The Secret of NIMH a jillion times and I must have it almost memorized as I listen with half an ear while I am on the computer.

1d and d are spending the day helping 800 do bird stuff so I have had lots of time to surf. The diversity of the journals I visit always amazes me, and yet even in our differences, I often find common ground. Charlotte Church, T.S. Eliot, the ocean, and many other points of kindred interest cause me again to realize that one cheats himself to narrow acquaintances down to only those who think exactly the same.

Bosom friends are more carefully chosen and rightly so, for we influence each other greatly, but our lives are enriched much by those who touch us only on the fringes.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!